Local and regional journalism after Leveson symposium

Local and regional journalism after Leveson – 5 November 2014 in Chester

Registration is now open for this one-day symposium organised by the MeCCSA Policy Network and the University of Chester. It will take place on 5 November 2014 in Chester (Kinsgway Buildings, room CKW132).

The event will bring together academics, journalists and NGOs as well as members of the newly formed independent regulator IPSO, the Society of Editors and the BBC Trust. Registration is only £20 and it will cover lunch and refreshments.

Confirmed keynote speakers include:

  • Professor Chris Frost, professor and head of Journalism at Liverpool John Moores University and a journalist, editor and journalism educator for more than 40 years working in newspapers before moving into the academy. He is National Chair of the Association for Journalism Education and as well as being a National Executive member of the National Union of Journalists, he is also Chair of the Ethics Council.
  • Keith Perch, regional press representative on the board of the new Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO). He is the former editor of the Leicester Mercury, the Derby Telegraph and the South Wales Echo, Cardiff, and has also worked for the Grimsby Telegraph, the Hull Daily Mail and the Birmingham Post and Mail. He is currently a senior lecturer in journalism at the University of Derby and a media consultant.
  • Dr James Morrison: a senior lecturer in Journalism at Kingston University and a former national newspaper journalist, who worked as a staff writer for, among others, the Independent on Sunday, the Daily Mail and the Press Association. He is the author of a core NCTJ textbook for trainee journalists, Essential Public Affairs for Journalists (Oxford University Press).

The panel will be chaired by Alison Hastings: currently BBC Trustee for England and chair of the Editorial Standards Committee, previously editor of the Evening Chronicle in Newcastle between 1996-2002 and an Editor Commissioner for the Press Complaints Commission.


Full details and registration can be found at: